Weekly Reflection 1/25-2/1/16

Week of January 25- February 1, 2016

Many changes have been made over the course of this week to my blog.  I customized the theme and am finally learning how to organize it like I want it.  I still have to figure out how to change the font color of my menu so the ‘Home’ and ‘About’ tabs can be seen.  My blogroll is finally coming along.  I am confused as to why I have the blogs from class showing up twice.  Hopefully someone will be able to show me what’s going on in class on Tuesday.  Thanks to Christopher’s comment on my question about blogrolls, I was able to get as far as I did.

I read many articles about what makes a blog a blog.  I really enjoyed reading about early blogs in Jill Walker Rettberg’s Blogging, chapter one.  I also read Rebecca Blood’s post weblogs: a history and perspective on her blog, rebecca’s pocket.  Since I couldn’t decide which other essay I should read, I decided to scan through some other blogs of my colleagues.  I stopped to comment on Dominique’s Fitzpatrick Reflection, since she did such a fantastic job asking questions of her readers to open up conversations.  I also commented on Micah’s post What makes a blog because I couldn’t resist his tempting lure of ice cream flavors.  Very clever!  After scanning, I chose to read Lilia Efimova’s ideas on a Weblog as a Personal Thinking Space.  She presents a lot of great information in her paper about personal blogs and left me with many ideas about how to improve my blog in the future.  The other post I commented on was Melissa’s.  She brought forth even more information that I never knew existed.

I made other various posts and Tweets this week, too. I am enjoying this class more and more as I learn how to facilitate my site better and explore what blogs are all about.  I am excited to see how blogs can be used in education.  I would like to use a blog in my classroom as a way to manage my writer’s and reader’s workshop classes since they are so individualized already.

P.S. I found the calendar to change the date of the post as Tara  replied to me about, but it is not working…  On my questions list for Tuesday!

Leave a Reply

